Droupadi Murmu becomes the 15th President of India. Photo: Shiv Aroor/ Twitter.

HISTORY MAKING: Droupadi Murmu becomes NEW President of India

New President of India Droupadi Murmu has become the youngest elected Head of State from a tribal community


Droupadi Murmu becomes the 15th President of India. Photo: Shiv Aroor/ Twitter.

Droupadi Murmu made history after she became the first tribal woman President in India.

Another record is that Droupadi at 64 became the youngest tribal President the country has ever had.


Today, Thursday, 21 July, NDA choice Droupadi convincingly won the elections by over 60 per cent of the total vote value.

According to NDTV, Opposition’s Yashwant Sinha conceded defeat after three rounds of counting.

NDTV reported that Droupadi Murmu got 64.03 per cent of total vote value after three rounds of counting. Yashwant Sinha ended up with 35.97 per cent.

Murmu received 1,349 votes with a value of 4,83,299 while Sinha received 537 votes with a value of 1,89,876.

A value of 5,43,000 is required for a victory, according to NDTV.


Droupadi Murmu is an Indian politician who became the 15th President-elect of India. She is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party. She served as the ninth Governor of Jharkhand between 2015 and 2021 and was chosen as the presidential candidate for the National Democratic Alliance in the 2022 election.

ALSO READ: New UAE president elected after brother’s death

The newly elected President Droupadi has received heaps of congratulatory messages after her victory.

Nerandra Modi, the Prime Minister of India said: “India scripts history. At a time when 1.3 billion Indians are marking Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, a daughter of India hailing from a tribal community born in a remote part of eastern India has been elected our President! Congratulations to Smt. Droupadi Murmu Ji on this feat”.

Furthermore, outgoing President of India Ram Nath Kovind said: “Heartiest congratulations and best wishes to Smt. Droupadi Murmu on being elected as the 15th President of India”.

The President-elect will take oath on July 25.