South African Agricultural Awards to be hosted in eThekwini. Image: GCIS Vuk’ uzenzele.

eThekwini to host the inaugural South African Agricultural Awards

EThekwini will host the inaugural South African Agricultural Awards (SAAA) on 25 June 2023 at the Durban ICC.


South African Agricultural Awards to be hosted in eThekwini. Image: GCIS Vuk’ uzenzele.

The inaugural South African Agricultural Awards (SAAA) will be held at the Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (Durban ICC) on 25 June 2023.

Awards objectives

The SAAA aims to promote the agricultural sector through celebrating and honouring the outstanding achievements of agriSMME’s and farmers who are contributing to the South African agriculture and rural development industry.

ALSO READ: Empowering women through agriculture

The awards attracted 259 nominations across different categories. The nomination process was open from 20 December 2022 and closed on 28 February 2023. The public was invited to nominate individuals or organisations excelling in the sector.

However, one category remains open for nominations. That is the ‘eThekwini Metro: Farmer of the Year’.

ALSO READ: Digital solutions are boosting agriculture, but it’s time to LEVEL UP

Nominations and categories

Nominations close on 5 May. Local farmers can submit their applications on the Agriculture Awards website and click on the nominations sub-menu to commence with the application.

The awards categories include Young Farmer of the Year, Farm Diversification, Nature Friendly Farmer, Rural Transformative Farmer, Innovation in Agriculture, Digital Development Award, and Livestock Farmer among others.

Upskilling local emerging farmers

In addition, to ensure meaningful impact, the Municipality’s Agri-Business Department is entering into a partnership with the SAAA non-profit organisation to promote eThekwini AgriSMME’s enterprise development initiatives.

ALSO READ: ANC policy papers tackle agriculture and land reform issues in South Africa

SAAA will partner with eThekwini Agricultural enterprises to help upskill emerging local farmers. Image: GroundUp/Ashraf Hendricks.

This will see local emerging farmers receive necessary training, skills development, and mentorship.

“We chose to host the first awards in eThekwini as the City has over the years supported many young people’s dreams within the agricultural sector.”

Said Ayanda Mnguni from the SAAA

EThekwini Mayor Councillor Mxolisi Kaunda welcomed the progressive initiative aimed at enhancing agricultural production.

“These awards will offer recognition that seek to inspire continuous productivity and resilience. In 2020, the eThekwini Municipality Council adopted the Agribusiness Masterplan as a guide to develop the sector. To date, the Municipality has invested approximately R55 million into Agribusiness infrastructure support projects, unlocking over 1 300 new jobs with 49 SMMEs benefiting from agribusiness programme,”

Councillor Mxolisi Kaunda

The awards sponsors include the Department of Public Works, MTN, Spar, FNB, Nestle, TWK Agri. Pty (Ltd), Johnson Workwear and Gagasi FM as a media sponsor.

ALSO READ: Department of Agriculture spends R33bn on botched Agri-Parks programme

The South African Agricultural Awards are the most prestigious awards in South African Agricultural and Rural Development industry.

They aim to recognise advisors, mentors, champions and farmer’s achievements across the country.