Eskom load reduction

Image via Adobe Stock

Eskom load reduction to be implemented in four provinces

Eskom has sent out a load reduction notice, with four provinces set to be affected on Saturday.

Eskom load reduction

Image via Adobe Stock

Four provinces will be affected by load reduction on Saturday night, according to Eskom.

The blackouts will take place between 17:00 and 22:00 in all affected provinces, and are said to be caused by the overloading of networks.

Eskom load reduction on Saturday, 8 August

The power utility has issued out a statement notifying its customers of the period of darkness looming in certain suburbs across the country.

“Overloading of networks leads to damage to the electricity infrastructure through explosions in overloaded transformers and mini substations,” the statement reads.

“It also poses a danger to people and property in the affected communities. Currently, Eskom is battling to keep up with the increased equipment failure that is costing millions to repair.”


Eskom also advised communities to treat all installations as live, and not to report faults during the load reduction period.

Affected areas

The provinces set to be affected by the load reduction are Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga and Limpopo.


SowetoDobsonville, Dube, Central Western Jabavu, Klipspruit, Meadowlands East Zones 1,2,3,4,5, Meadowlands West Zones 6,7,8,9,10, Mofolo Central, Mofolo North, Mofolo South, Orlando East & Orlando West.
VaalBoitumelo, Drieziek, Evaton Central, Evaton, Evaton West, Orange Farm, Poortje,  Sebokeng Zones 8,12,13,14,16 &19, and Small Farms.
WestrandCosmo City & Zandspruit.