Namibia to revoke visa-free entry for over 30 nations

Namibia to revoke visa-free entry for over 30 nations
Source: Pixabay.

South African neighbour revokes visa-free entry to 30 nations

Namibia is in the process of removing visa-free entry arrangements for over 30 nationalities in a move to improve parity and justice.

Namibia to revoke visa-free entry for over 30 nations

Namibia to revoke visa-free entry for over 30 nations
Source: Pixabay.

Namibia will implement visa restrictions for a number of nationalities that do not offer visa-free entry to its nationals.

In a statement on 24 May Namibia’s Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security, said that Namibia’s cabinet had granted authorisation for the introduction of entry visa requirements to over 30 countries.

The proposal was submitted by Namibia’s home affairs minister Albert Kawana.


Approximately 37 nations are set to face new visa requirements for entry to Namibia.

These include: Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong (SAR), Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macau (SAR), Mauritius, Moldova, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russia, Seychelles, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America and Uzbekistan.


Namibia could witness international tourism numbers fall when it imposes visa requirements for over 30 nationalities.

Moreover, the country will see some of its top tourism source markets removed from its visa exemption list.

Tourism Update says this list includes many of Namibia’s top international tourism source countries. These nations include Austria, Belgium, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The visa restrictions could impact Namibia’s tourist sector which has seen positive growth in post-pandemic times.

According to The Brief, the Hospitality Association of Namibia (HAN) says the country’s hospitality sector is worried and disappointed with the initiative.

“This announcement comes as a huge disappointment to HAN and a large part of the tourism sector,” HAN chief executive Gitta Paetzold said.


The move may not be wise considering a trend among many countries to ease entry restrictions for tourists.

Several countries including Kenya, Malawi and Rwanda have eased entry by removing visa restrictions for many nationalities.

As a result, this increases tourist flows and ultimately boosts local tourist economies.


Namibia has decided to take a stand against countries that do not reciprocate unrestricted entry for its nationals.

According to the Namibian, Namibia currently grants visa exemptions to around 55 countries. However, only 18 of these reciprocate the arrangement to Namibian nationals.

Furthermore, Namibia says that this is not a tit-for-tat response but an effort to ensure parity and fairness.

“In recent years, the Republic of Namibia has extended gestures of goodwill and favourable treatment to nationals of various countries. However, despite these efforts, certain nations have not reciprocated. In light of these disparities, the government has deemed it necessary to implement a visa requirement to ensure parity and fairness in diplomatic interactions,” the statement reads.


The ministry said the date of implementation and procedures for the issuing of visas for travellers from the affected countries would be communicated through diplomatic channels.

Thus, citizens from over 30 countries will no longer enjoy visa-free access to Namibia. Unless of course, their governments agree to reciprocate visa exemption agreements.

Countries with reciprocal visa arrangements, such as Angola, Botswana, South Africa and Zimbabwe, will not be affected by the upcoming changes.