Africa United: Visa-free trave

Africa United: Visa-free travel to all AU countries coming in July

The African Union is ready to launch its electronic African Passport, allowing citizens of the Union to travel visa-free between all 54 AU countries.

Africa United: Visa-free trave

The AU says the projects forms part of Africa’s Agenda 2063 and was already approved back in 2014 with the aim of effecting intra-Africa trade, integration and socio-economic development.

BusinessTech reports that the new passport will be unveiled in Kigali in July and will, at first, only be given to heads of state and home affairs officials.

While the Union aims to have all citizens equipped with a passport by 2018, experts have cast doubt on whether this will actually happen as most African countries are too underdeveloped to be able to roll out the system in time.

Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, the chairperson of the AU Commission, called the initiative a “steady step toward the objective of creating a strong, prosperous and integrated Africa, driven by its own citizens and capable of taking its rightful place on the world stage.”

The passport will give all African citizens visa-free travel throughout the entire African Union, including South Africa, Mauritius, Kenya and Egypt.