Jaguar Formula E

Sparks are going to fly at the Formula E at the Templehof Airport in Berlin, Germany, from 5 August. Image: Supplied

Live and unplugged: Jaguar brings Formula E to a TV screen near you

High-voltage action: Six-race, nine-day season finale to be broadcast live on SuperSport for the first time.

Jaguar Formula E

Sparks are going to fly at the Formula E at the Templehof Airport in Berlin, Germany, from 5 August. Image: Supplied

The final six rounds of the 2019/2020 ABB FIA Formula E Championship will be broadcast on SuperSport for the first time ever courtesy of Jaguar South Africa and its partnership with Cape Town Formula E bid company e-Movement.

In order to conclude the season after a lengthy pause due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Formula E series organisers have devised a trio of double-headers comprising six races in nine days on three circuit layouts at the Templehof Airport in Berlin, Germany. 

Image: Supplied

All of these races, including qualifying sessions will be screened live and repeated on SuperSport thanks to a broadcast partnership with Jaguar South Africa. The races take place on 5 to 6, 8 to 9 and 12 to 13 August.

SuperSport will also air Championship Highlights episodes, special Formula E features, as well as some of the season’s past rounds from around the world.

Historic first for South Africa

This is a historic first in South Africa, and Jaguar is thrilled to bring the televised all-electric Formula E season finale to fans in our region. This package is an exciting new element in our support of e-Movement’s bid to secure a World Championship Formula E round on the streets of Cape Town,” Jaguar Land Rover Douth Africa marketing director Lisa Mallett said.

“Jaguar is leading the charge when it comes to electrification in South Africa, and after investing in public charging infrastructure nationwide with the Powerway, the successful introduction of the all-electric I-PACE and its subsequent award as 2020 AutoTrader South African Car of the Year, we’re looking forward to carrying e-mobility momentum into the future.”

The all-electric Jaguar I-Pace. Image: Supplied

Cape Town on 2021/2022 Formula E calendar

In March, Jaguar was announced as the founding partner for e-Movement’s plans to host a Formula E race using a street circuit in the heart of Cape Town.

With a feasibility study undertaken by members of Formula E operations during a site visit in 2019, and ongoing negotiation processes, Jaguar and e-Movement have provisionally secured a date for a Cape Town round in the 2021/2022 ABB FIA Formula E calendar. 

“While we eagerly await a formal announcement in regards to an official E-Prix calendar entry, we’ve worked hard together with the City of Cape Town to develop a suitable track layout on Cape Town’s city streets that will fit into the precinct with minimal disruption to the general public and traffic,” e-Movement chairperson Iain Banner said. 

Five-day e-Fest event

“But at the same time we’re also proud to be working with Jaguar on e-Mobility education and awareness. Securing a broadcast deal to screen Formula E on SuperSport provides a perfect platform to showcase the energy and excitement electric motoring and motorsport have to offer.” 

“We are also working flat out to finalise a commercial programme to support the staging of a five-day e-Fest event in Cape Town, focusing on all things electric and the environment. This event is planned for late in 2021, so stay tuned for more information.”

Berlin ABB FIA Formula E live broadcast schedule:

  • Round 6 Qualifying – 14:00, 5 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 6 Race – 18:00, 5 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 7 Qualifying – 14:00, 6 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 7 Race – 18:30, 6 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 8 Qualifying – 14:00, 8 August – SuperSport 12
  • Round 8 Race – 18:30, 8 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 9 Qualifying – 14:00, 9 August – SuperSport 8
  • Round 9 Race – 18:30, 9 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 10 Qualifying – 14:00, 12 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 10 Race – 18:30, 12 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 11 Qualifying – 14:00, 13 August – SuperSport 6
  • Round 11 Race – 18:30, 13 August – SuperSport 6