South African Hip-Hop Awards 2018 #SAHHA2018

Instagram / SA Hip-Hop Awards

South African Hip-Hop Awards 2018: These are the nominees

The South African Hip-Hop Awards 2018 are almost here and these are this year’s nominations.

South African Hip-Hop Awards 2018 #SAHHA2018

Instagram / SA Hip-Hop Awards

The South African Hip-Hop Awards 2018 (#SAHHA2018) are here and the conversation is already heated about who deserved to be featured and who should have been left out.

The nominations were announced on Monday and the discussion is already centred around who will grab the coveted Song of the Year award.

What are the South African Hip-Hop Awards all about?

This year, it must be said, the South African music industry will be tuned in to see if the #SAHHA2018 has improved in making the correct and deserved choices in selecting their winners.

The award ceremony seeks to celebrate Hip-Hop musicians who have achieved and grown a lot in 2017/2018. According to the #SAHHA2018 website, the awards ceremony is managed by the Ritual Media Group (RMG). The coveted award comes in the form of what they call the Pyramid.

ReadLerato Sengadi intensifies fightback against Tsambo family

On the topic of how voting works, this is what is written on the website:

Voting is based 100% on judges’ scores for the following categories: Album of the Year; Best Dance Crew; Best DJ; Best Freshman; Best Graffiti; Best International Brand; Best Local  Brand; Hustler of the Year; Lyricist of the Year; Mixtape of the Year; Most Valuable;  Producer of the Year; Promoter of the Year and all the King of “…”

Voting is based on the judges’ scores and public votes (60% judges and 40% public) for the Top 5 categories: Best Collaboration, Best Female, Best Male, Best Video and Song of the Year. Voting is based 100% on online votes for the following category: Best Hip Hop Radio Show.

#SAHHA2018 nominees

These are the artists that have ben nominated in each participating category:

Song of the Year

  1. Riky Rick – Stay Shining
  2. Nasty C – Send Me Away
  3. Zakwe ft Various Artists – Sebentin
  4. Nadia Nakai ft Cassper Nyovest – Naa Mean
  5. DJ Speedsta ft OkMalumKoolKat – Combos Communicating
  6. Anatii – Thixo Onofefe
  7. Kwesta ft Wale – Spirit
  8. Nasty C ft ASAP Ferg – King
  9. Kid X ft Chiano Sky – Aunty
  10. Cassper Nyovest – Ksazobalit

Best Album

  1. Zakwe – Cebisa
  2. Nasty C – Strings N Bling
  3. Da Les – High Life
  4. Blaklez – Baby Brother
  5. K.O – SR2

Mixtape of the Year

  1. Slikour Onlife – Incubator Class of 2017
  2. DJ Sliqe – Navy Black
  3. Stogie T – Honey & Pain
  4. Gigi Lamayne – VI
  5. Moozlie – Versus

Best Male

  1. Nasty C
  2. Blaklez
  3. KO
  4. Zakwe
  5. Da Les

Best Female

  1. Nelz
  2. Gigi Lamayne
  3. Moozlie
  4. Fifi Cooper
  5. Tyrant

DJ of the Year

  1. DJ Speedsta
  2. Akio
  3. Junior De Rocka
  4. DJ Sliqe
  5. Ms Cosmo

Producer of the Year

  1. Makwa Beats
  2. Gemini Major
  3. Tweezy
  4. Co-kayn Beats
  5. Zooci Coke Dope

Best Collabo

  1. Boity ft Nasty C – Wuz Dat
  2. DJ Speedsta ft OkMalumKoolKat – Combos Communicating
  3. DJ Capital ft Kwesta, Reason & Kid X – Skebe Dep Dep
  4. Nasty C ft ASAP Ferg – King
  5. Kid X ft Chiano Sky – Aunty
  6. Ms Cosmo ft Moozlie, Rouge & Sho Madjozi – Ay Baby
  7. Nadia Nakai ft Cassper Nyovest – Naa Mean
  8. Riky Rick ft Cassper Nyovest, Professor & Major League DJs – Stay Shining

Lyricist of the Year

  1. Nasty C
  2. Stogie T
  3. Zakwe
  4. Ginger Breadman
  5. PDotO

Freshman of the Year (Newcomer)

  1. Big Zulu
  2. Saudi
  3. Moozlie
  4. Tyrant

Hustler of the Year

  1. Cassper Nyovest
  2. Rouge
  3. Proverb
  4. Slikour Onlife
  5. Kwesta

Best Dance Crew

  1. Supreme I Crew
  2. 2Legitt Crew
  3. Creed Crew
  4. Survivor Dance Crew

Best Video

  1. L-Tido ft Phoenix – I’m Back
  2. Zakwe ft Cassper Nyovest – Sebentin
  3. Nasty C – Jungle
  4. Ms Cosmo ft Moozlie, Rouge & Sho Madjozi – Ay Baby
  5. Nadia Nakai ft Cassper Nyovest – Naa Mean
  6. Cassper Nyovest – Ksazobalit
  7. Anatii – Thixo Onofefe
  8. Kwesta ft Wale – Spirit
  9. Nadia Nakai ft Frank Casino – Money Calling
  10. Riky Rick ft Cassper Nyovest, Professor & Major League DJs – Stay Shining

Best Graffiti

  1. Drake MHC
  2. Senzart
  3. Dbongz

Best Local Brand

  1. Family Tree
  2. StylaGang Original Designs
  3. Butanwear

Best International Brand

  1. Power Play
  2. KFC
  3. Castle Lite

Promoter of the Year

  1. Pop Bottles
  2. Major League Gardens
  3. Junior Lavie
  4. Until Until
  5. Kool Out

Milestone Award

Cassper Nyovest – for his work in filling up FNB Stadium.

Best Digital Sales

Kwesta – accumulated the most digital sales for Spirit (2017-2018)

Most Valuable Player (MVP)

  1. Cassper Nyovest
  2. Riky Rick
  3. Kwesta
  4. Nasty C
  5. Proverb

Best Remix

  1. DJ Capital ft Kwesta, Youngsta CPT, Stogie T, Kid X & Reason – Skebe Dep Dep (remix)
  2. Zakwe ft Musiholiq, Cassper Nyovest, Blaklez, Kwesta, HHP & Prokid – Sebentin (remix)
  3. Jovilash ft Flabba, HHP, Mr Selwyn & Infadizle – Ya Kwini (remix)
  4. Beatmochini ft Towdeemac, Skillo, Nasi Profresher-KT, Lection & Khuli Chana – Wata Mafia Gon Do (remix)
  5. Riky Rick ft Da Les, Youngsta CPT, Frank Casino, Stilo Magolide, J Molley & KLY – Buy It Out (remix)

Best Radio Show

  1. YFM – SA Hip Hop Live
  2. Uhozi FM – iNumba Numba
  3. 5FM – 16 Bars Reloaded
  4. Goodhope FM – The Ready D Show
  5. Metro FM – Absolute Hip Hop
  6. – Trailblazer
  7. Motsweding FM – Motshwako wa Hip Hop
  8. Gagazi FM – Hip Hop Session
  9. Radio Bushbuckridge – Rhythm & Flow
  10. 5FM – The Stir Up