Netflix accepting applications for its Creative Equity Scholarship Fund. Image via Pixabay

Netflix invests R15m towards scholarships in Africa…here’s how to apply

Netflix has committed R15 million to a scholarship fund for film and television students in sub-Saharan Africa to cover tuition and more.


Netflix accepting applications for its Creative Equity Scholarship Fund. Image via Pixabay

Netflix has committed more than R15 million towards the newly-established Netflix Creative Equity Scholarship Fund (CESF) for film and television students in Sub-Saharan Africa. 

The scholarship will cover tuition, accommodation, study materials and living expenses for students who have been admitted to a film and television university programme in 2022. 


Netflix‘s CESF is targeted for rollout across the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region starting with an open call for applications for the 2022 academic year.

In a statement, Netflix’s director of content in Africa, Ben Amadasun says the streaming giant is excited by the potential of the next generation of storytellers. 

“We believe there are great stories to be told from Africa and we want to play our part by supporting students who are passionate about the film and television industry so they too, can ultimately contribute to the creative ecosystem by bringing more unique voices and diverse perspectives to African storytelling that our global audiences find appealing.”

ALSO READ: Local animation ‘Seal Team’ secures spot on Netflix’s most-watched list


Students interested in applying for the CESF scholarship for the 2022 academic year will be able to find more information about application criteria etc on the Tshikululu Social Investment website

Only students who wish to further their film and television studies in South Africa and are able to obtain the necessary documentation are eligible for the scholarship. 

The Netflix CESF scholarship will soon benefit students from other parts of Africa, specifically East, West and Central Africa. Administration partners for other African regions will be announced soon. 

Applications close on 4 February 2022 at 23:59.

ALSO READ: ‘Jeen-Yuhs’: Kanye West’s documentary to premiere on Netflix in February


Students studying in their final year or in a one-year postgraduate qualification relating to film and television studies qualify for the scholarship. The minimum aggregate to qualify for the scholarship is 60%.


  • AACA Film and Acting Schol
  • AFDA
  • Boston Media House
  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT)
  • City Varisty
  • Durban University of Technology (DUT)
  • Tshwane University of Technology (TU)
  • University of Cape Town (UCT)
  • University of Johannesburg (UJ)
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN)
  • University of Pretoria (UP)
  • University of Witwatersrand (Wits)