Feather Awards

Take a look at the nominees for the 14th annual Feather Awards. Image via Twitter @FeathersSA

2022 Feather Awards: Take a look at the full list of nominees

The nominees for the colourful 14th annual Feather Awards were announced on Thursday 13 October. Who has been nominated?

Feather Awards

Take a look at the nominees for the 14th annual Feather Awards. Image via Twitter @FeathersSA

The nominees for the 2022 Feather Awards were announced on Thursday 13 October at the Constitutional Hill in Johannesburg. The colourful event featured the reigning Miss South Africa, Ndavi Nokeri, the Modiselle sisters, Bontle, Candice and Refilwe, and the Feather Awards co-founder, Thami Dish. 

The awards ceremony are set to take place at the Market Theatre in Johannesburg on Thursday 10 November. 

ALSO READ: Pride Month: LGBTQI+ cruise to hit Mzansi shores in 2023!


2022 marks the 14th year of the Feather Awards, founded by Thami Dish and Joe Correria. The LGBTQI+ awards celebrate queer people and allies who are reaching exceptional heights in Africa. 

Speaking on transformation, Dish says there is still so much work to be done adding that COVID-19 “slowed down the process”. 

“Inclusivity is not about celebrating the community for a few days in a year. Government and corporates need to support the community, get involved in programmes and initiatives 365 days of the year, not just in June or October when the exercise of ticking boxes needs to happen,” he said.

ALSO READ: Past and present: Five global LGBTQI+ activists [photos]


 Best Styled Individual 

  • Nkuley Masemola
  • Bradley Ndlovu
  • Ponahalo Mojapelo

Hunk of the Year 

  • Shahaan Ramkisoon
  • Senzo Radebe
  • Anton Jeftha

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year

  • Yvonne Chaka-Chaka
  • Abigail Khubeka
  • John Kani

Sports Personality of the Year

  • Kgothatso Monjane
  • Banyana Banyana
  • Andile Dlamini

Role model of the Year

  • Banyana Banyana
  • Kass Naidoo
  • FEW

Cutest Couple

  • Koleka Putuma and Robyn
  • Lamiez Holworthy and Khuli Chana
  • Boity Thulo and Anton Jeftha

Hot Chick of the Year

  • Rose-Mary Zimu
  • Nkuley Masemola
  • Nambitha Ben-Mazwi

Media Award of the Year 

  • YFM
  • ENCA
  • EXIT

Fag Hag of the Year 

  • Candice Modiselle
  • Judy Nokwedi
  • Vuyo Mse-Ngcukana

Designer of the Year

  • Sello Medupi for Scalo
  • Palesa Mokobung
  • Donald Nxumalo

Musician of the Year

  • Musa Keys
  • Zakes Bantwini
  • Msaki

Socialite of the Year

  • Birth of Stars
  • Tumi Powerhouse
  • Rami Chuene

Drama Queen of the Year

  • Thato (Real Housewives of Cape Town)
  • SK Khoza
  • Professor Mokgethi

Social Media Personality of the Year  

  • Birth of Stars
  • Tumi Powerhouse 
  • Khanyisa Unfiltered

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Private Sector 

  • Jagermeister
  • Proctor and Gamble
  • Meta SA

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Public Sector 

  • Department of Social Development
  • SAPS Sophiatown
  • NYDA

Best LGBTIQ Youth Movement 

  • Active Wits
  • Vogue Nights
  • Impulse

Best Rainbow Parenting 

  • Shumi Dantile 
  • Treyvonne Moo (House of Diamonds)
  • Buhle and Botshelo