‘The Book of Magic’: Female po

‘Book of Magic’ Alice Hoffman. Image via Twitter @bigtickHK

‘The Book of Magic’: Female power casts spell in enchanting fantasy

Award-winning American author Alice Hoffman is back with the second and final instalment of her spellbinding series ‘Practical Magic’.

‘The Book of Magic’: Female po

‘Book of Magic’ Alice Hoffman. Image via Twitter @bigtickHK

Alice Hoffman invites readers to travel into the magical world of her fantasy writing with the final instalment of her Practical Magic series. The beauty of Hoffman’s writing and storytelling is that the reader does not have to have read the first book of this series, titled Practical Magic, to enjoy the characters and their stories in the second novel.

Readers will not be confused if they pick up the second book — The Book of Magic — first. This book can function as a stand-alone read and does not lose any of its “enchantment” without reading the first book.

For readers who have read the first book, The Book of Magic is a return to the wonderful world and captivating characters they met in the popular first book.

‘Book of Magic’: Hoffman weaves unforgettable tale

The magic within this book is not just in the story but also in Hoffman’s writing. With delightful prose and achingly beautiful descriptions, Hoffman shines on every page, creating characters so detailed and realistic, you will shed a tear when the final page is turned.

“Full of Hoffman’s bewitching and lucid prose and vivid characters, ‘The Book of Magic’ is ultimately, about the very human magic of family and love and actions that echo through generations…it casts a spell”

Matt Haig – bestselling author of “The Midnight Library”


Some stories begin at the beginning and others begin at the end, but all the best stories begin in a library.

Beware of love that was dishonest and disloyal, love that would lie to you and trick you, love that could break you and condemn you to sorrow, love that could never be trusted.

Life was a book, Jet thought, but one you would never finish. You would never know how people would wind up; the good often suffered and the wicked prospered and there was no explanation for the way in which fate was meted out as there was in novels.

This past winter, the ivy froze then broke into cold green shards so that the garden seemed littered with glass. The sunflowers that had always been kept in jars to dry fell in pieces, with petals falling onto tabletops and dusting the corners of every room.

Why not take a chance as long as you were still alive? At this age there wasn’t much more to lose, only the beautiful world, only every morning and night.


The Owens family has been cursed in matters of love for over three-hundred years but all of that is about to change. The novel begins in a library, the best place for a story to be conjured, when beloved aunt Jet Owens hears the death watch beetle and knows she has only seven days to live. Jet is not the only one in danger—the curse is already at work.

A frantic attempt to save a young man’s life spurs three generations of the Owens women, and one long-lost brother, to use their unusual gifts to break the curse as they travel from Paris to London to the English countryside where their ancestor Maria Owens first practiced the Unnamed Art.

The younger generation discovers secrets that have been hidden from them in matters of both magic and love by Sally, their fiercely protective mother. As Kylie Owens uncovers the truth about who she is and what her own dark powers are, her aunt Franny comes to understand that she is ready to sacrifice everything for her family, and Sally Owens realizes that she is willing to give up everything for love.

The Book of Magic is a breath-taking conclusion that celebrates mothers and daughters, sisters and brothers, and anyone who has ever been in love.


Alice Hoffman is the author of more than thirty works of fiction, including The World That We Knew; The Marriage of Opposites; The Red Garden; The Museum of Extraordinary Things; The Dovekeepers; Here on Earth, an Oprah’s Book Club selection. Her Practical Magic series, including Practical Magic; Magic Lessons; The Rules of Magic, has been a selection of Reese’s Book Club.

She lives near Boston in the USA.

Book of Magic is published by Charles Scribner’s Sons and is available from Exclusive Books stores for R338.